The threshold for payment of prevailing wages on public works projects in Maine is $50,000. Please note, the city of Portland has its own prevailing wage requirements. Prevailing wage rates are separated by county and category for the project:
Building 1 – One or two family homes
Building 2 – Other than one or two family homes
Highway and Earthwork
Heavy and Bridge
General building contractors do not need to obtain a license in Maine. However, the following trades or occupations are required a license: Asbestos abatement work, Electrician, Oil or fuel burner servicer or installer, Plumber, Propane or natural gas servicer or installer.
According to Title 27, Chapter 37, to qualify as an apprentice in the state of Maine, an individual must: 1) be at least 16 years of age (higher minimum age standard of 18 years is required by the sponsor/is fixed by the law); 2) employed to learn and apprenticeship occupation that is approved by the department; 3) and is registered with the Maine Apprenticeship Program (MAP).